top of page
搜尋
baiyuw

WEEK 3

已更新:2021年1月25日

Reflection & Habits of Mind



Curiosity:

the desire to know more about the world

- The course WR39A: Disney & Gender has undoubtedly stimulated my thirst for knowledge, and it has brought me a broader vision to examine existed social issues. The role of social construction in gender roles, let me reconsider how Disney shaped its characters, and me further examine how to define masculinity and feminization.

 

Openness:

the willingness to consider new ways of being and thinking in the world

- Based on the reading "What is Toxic Masculinity," such factors as not being good at expressing feelings in public, anti-femininity, and being keen on violence, which constitute toxic masculinity, will have negative effects on men's mental and physical health. In the future study, I will pay attention to such characteristics of male image, so that I can interpret the role from a more objective perspective.

 

Engagement:

a sense of investment and involvement in learning


- I have already carefully read peer reviews our classmates made for my Week 2 Exploratory Writing. From their comments, I learned what I did well in this assignment and got many suggestions for improvement. I will take these suggestions and feed them back on next time when I work on topic sentences and source integrations.

 

Creativity:

the ability to use novel approaches for generating, investigating, and representing ideas

- I think the biggest creativity of this class is to create our own portfolio website. We need to learn how to operate My Site to integrate the content we need to publish, and at the same time to design it as beautiful as we can.

 

Persistence:

the ability to sustain interest in and attention to short- and long-term projects

- As far as WR39A is concerned, this course will issue a number of different assignments every week, and some assignments are long-term projects spanning several weeks. Therefore, I need to arrange the time of each assignment reasonably and follow up their respective progress, so as to ensure that they can be completed before deadline, which require persistence.

 

Flexibility:

the ability to adapt to situations, expectations, or demands

- Like WR39A, I also have several courses that require to submit a number of assignments every week, so that I have been exploring how to reasonably arrange the flexibility of each course and how to schedule time effectively in past three week.

 

Responsibility:

the ability to take ownership of one’s actions and understand the consequences of those actions for oneself and others

- It's my responsibility to complete all assignment as required before the deadline. And I also have the responsibility to take every feedback to others seriously, and accept others' suggestions with an open mind. Only in this way I can greatly improve my writing.

 

Metacognition (reflection) :

the ability to reflect on one’s own thinking as well as on the individual and cultural processes used to structure knowledge

- In WR39A, we need to post a blog every week to review the learning content of this week's studying and reflect on it. In my opinion, it not only records my learning progress, but also helps me to realize my growth.

8 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

WEEK 2

1 Comment


Kai Wen
Kai Wen
Jan 31, 2021

It's really nice seeing you relfect on the habits you've built, keep it on!

Like
bottom of page