top of page
搜尋
baiyuw

WEEK 1

Writing 39A, Introduction to Writing and Rhetoric



My name is Baiyu Wang. I am a sophomore double majoring in Sociology and International Study. I loving reading and traveling. I am a curious girl who always willing to try new things and face new challenges, so I will study hard this quarter to reach my goal of this course.


Describe the Last Writing Course

AC ENG 20C: Focus on synthesizing and integrate sources to organize an academic writing to answer a research question.

The 2 most important things that I learned as a result of being in that class were standardized the writing format of notable bibliography and mastered the steps of organizing a research paper.



Self-assessment

- Weakness: Although I can guarantee the integrity of the structure of the article, the transition between paragraphs is not smooth. And the opinion analysis is easy to write cumbersome, which needs to be more logical integration.

- Excel in: My thesis can be essential and relevant to the topic. I can discuss and analyze evidence through direct quotations, paraphrases and summaries with no mistakes.


Result on the Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect


Choosing the sentences with correctly use punctuation is the type of problem I have the most problems. I felt like I was spending more time on such type of problem when I was doing the test, so I wasn't surprised by my result. I should analyze the components of the sentence more carefully so as to better understand the application of grammar.


Core Elements of Course

- Syllabus: How do Disney films contribute to the construction of society's values and norms about gender roles? Have these values changed over time?


- Course objectives: Through practicing collaboration, communication skills, metacognitive reading to become a better overall communicator. To improve "Habits of Mind" and written literacy in different types of genres. And to understand the importance of peer review, self review and reflection.


- Grade contract: In order to achieve student need to meet instructors' expectations and improve their work by identifying strengths and weaknesses. Student not only need to reach the goal of portfolio assembly, well developing claims, evidence ad analysis.


16 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

WEEK 2

WEEK 2 EXTRA CREDIT

Kai Wen: https://kwen59.wixsite.com/website He tells what he learned in the "Me in Six Words" presentation and in watching the video...

4 comentarios


Pan Zhang
Pan Zhang
18 ene 2021

Hi, Baiyu! I also encountered a lot of problems with grammar. But my punctuation is pretty good. My experience is to first learn the relevant rules by taking notes and then try more in your own writing, and use the notes to judge whether you are using them correctly.

Me gusta

Jiayi Chen
Jiayi Chen
18 ene 2021

Hi Baiyu, I have similar problem as you that I am not familiar with the use of punctuation and I think I should learn from you to utilize accurate paraphrases and summaries to support my thesis.

Me gusta

Wanyi Shi
Wanyi Shi
17 ene 2021

Hi Baiyu! The use of correct punctuation is also a big problem for me in Language and Grammar Diagnostic because the punctuation of the sentences in those choices looks similar, it is easy to confuse.

Me gusta

Yinda Chen
Yinda Chen
17 ene 2021

I notice that you are also struggling with paragraph transition. I think the best way to improve is to read. Hope you can overcome your weakness on writing.

Me gusta
bottom of page