top of page
搜尋
baiyuw

Final Reflection Blog

已更新:2021年3月15日




Transformative Learning

Around the course question on how do Disney films contribute to the construction of society’s values and norms about gender roles, I realized that people have stereotypes of gender roles. Before I studied WR39A, I never noticed how Disney portrayed the characters and reflected the social construction and culture values under the background of the times. In people’s inherent concept, Disney’s fairy tales always begin with “once upon a time” and end with “happy ever after.”



The early Disney Princesses were portrayed as naive, gentle and homely women who couldn't get out of their predicament until a man fell in love with them. With the development of society and feminism, Disney's depiction of female gender roles has also changed. Women are endowed with their own unique characteristics, and even begin to grasp power. Elsa became the first queen among many princesses, which was closely related to the promotion of modern women's social status. In the pursuit of gender equality between male and female, more and more female superheroes are also included in the production category by Disney.

The existence of Black Widow and Captain Surprise reflects that women can have the ability to match men in all aspects. Similarly, the toxic masculinity embodied in the villains also shows people’s change of recognition of gender roles under the traditional social construction.

Another aspect I learned from this course is how to use Wix to make websites. From blog publishing to overall design and typesetting of web pages, I learned how to organize works in multimedia together. For example, in our Podcast/ Microsite Project and Writing Showcase, we need to provide images and links related to the assignment and match the words analyze production processes. I think this skill will also help me in my future study.

 

Problems & A Plan for the Future

I think there are still some problems exist in my time planning and arrangement. In WR39A,there are tasks to tasks to be submitted every Tuesday, Thursday and Sunday, which requires students to study continuously for a week to complete the process. Even though I can ensure that I can complete all the assignment on time, I still meet the situation of catching up homework before deadline. Therefore, in the future study, I should arrange the time more reasonably and refuse the habit of procrastination, so as to further ensure that all the submitted assignments can be completed with high quality. In addition, my lack of time arrangement is also reflected in that I have hardly participated in the professor’s office hours in this quarter. Although the time zone difference occupied certain reason, I still need to pay more attention to reasonable arrange the time.


The grammar problems in the writing process is also the problem I need to solve in the future study. I need to work more on coherence and subject-verb to make my articles have less mistakes in grammar and become more readability In the future, I will go to the writing center more frequently for help, and through their modification suggestions, I can learn how to write academic papers more authentic.



15 次查看

最新文章

查看全部

WEEK 2

3 則留言


Melissa Guadalupe Marcial
Melissa Guadalupe Marcial
2021年3月15日

Hey Baiyu! Managing our time can definitely be a bit hard. I struggled with that in the beginning of the quarter as well. My advice would be to create a to do list the day before. It has helped me become aware of the assignments I need to complete the following day. Hope this helps. :) Good luck in your future classes!

按讚

zebangx1
2021年3月15日

Hi, Baiyu! It is my pleasure to be in a group with you and to give feedbacks to each other. I highly agree with your point on time planning and arrangement because I am just same as you. I still meet the situation of catching up homework before deadline,too and we should make a reasonable plan to save and manage our time. It is time to say goodbye. May all go well.

按讚

Yi Jiang
Yi Jiang
2021年3月15日

Hi Baiyu,

I agree with you that grammar is a difficult subject for us, and we all need to improve it, we did a lot of McGraw practice in this class, however learning is a conscience thing, and there is no limit of learning, we still need to practice. It was a great experience working with you in the final essay, your suggestions and comment helped me a lot to the finishing of my essay, it gives me new ideas and to look at things in a new perspective, Thank you for what you did, and great luck in your future classes.

按讚
bottom of page